Hello everyone,

first of all, I am sorry I disappeared for about three months. I have been really lazy lately. But I want to start posting weekly, maybe two posts a week.

So, NaNoWriMo, that’s happening right now. You may think that I am doing it–I decided not to. I have had two tests so far this month (English and Math) so I have been studying a lot. I also have French next week. Second, I am laking inspiration. I have no idea what to write. The idea that I had is way to much like Replica by Lauren Oliver. I really want to write YA Contemporary; no clue what it’s going to be about. So I have a question for you guys: How do you get your ideas and how do you flesh them out?

Now I have some tips for some NaNoWriMoers:

  1. Do word sprints. This helps soooo much, really, it does. You set a timer for 15 minutes, turn of the internet and all distractions and just write. Don’t have an excuse like: “Oh, it’s already three and dinner is soon, I better run to the grocery store”. No, just no. Sit down and write for 15 minutes. You’ll be surprised how much you actually get done. My high score was around 1000 words. Also, doing the word sprints with NaNoWriMo on their Youtube channel can help if you want a big community.
  2. Reward yourself. Reward yourself every day, no matter what. Wether it be a book, a cookie, an extra scroll through Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr…. Do it. Remind yourself that you are writing 50,000 words in a month. Not something everybody does. Also, even if you only reach 10,000, 20,000 or whatever, give yourself a pat on the back. You at least attempted to write a novel in a month. Not everyone is brave enough to do that.
  3. Don’t give up! This is so important. Even if you feel like your story sucks, keep on going. You never know what might happen; you might have a great idea that’ll make it even better. Your book is great, concidering it is a first draft. Don’t think that you suck. Just don’t. Have confidence in yourself. When you finish it, you can edit and make it perfection. You can do it. 

I hope you guys enjoyed this little post. Please let my know what you would like to see next. How I publish, how I manage not to read that much (I am joking here) or whatever 🙂 Have a great day and remember, reach for your dreams; nothing is impossible. Do whatever it takes, 

Luc

Leave a Reply

