Hello everyone!

Today I’ll talk about NaNoWriMo 2016! Yep, you heard me write, NaNoWriMo starts in only TWO months, which means prep time begins. So today I will talk a little bit about my process leading up to the first day of NaNoWriMo. Then when NaNoWriMo rolls around I will post updates every week and in between maybe a few posts with tips and tricks, book reviews, etc.

Prep Tips: 

  1. Write an Outline. This is so important for NaNoWriMo. I myself am a Pantser but I do outline for NaNoWriMo. Why? Well, you have thirty days to write a novel so I wouldn’t like to get stuck and not complete my wordcount goal, aka. win. So with an outline you WON’T get stuck. You have everything planned out. Of course, you don’t need to stick to the outline. You will make stuff up while you go, but if you get stuck you know in which direction you are heading or should be heading. I do chapter outlines, I will leave an example down below:

Chapter One: 

… (what happens in this chapter)

 

Chapter Two:

… “”

 

2. Draw Your Characters! I have never really done this before but I have once and it helps a lot! It puts you in the mindset of the character. Recommend doing it!

3. Write down any idea that comes to your mind or description! This may sound weird because this is normal for a writer, but include this in your outline. If you have an idea for a scene, write it down. If you have an idea of how to describe a scenery, right it down. You don’t know, even if it has nothing to do with your plot/story, maybe you can redo it and include it in your book. If this doesn’t make sense, please drop a comment down below!

Those were my tips! I hope you enjoyed them, please make sure to drop a comment down below if there is any topic that you would like me to cover!

Thanks,

Lucas

Please follow me on Instagram: @lucasjamesauthor

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2016?!

  1. We have kind of the same way of preparation! 🙂 I always try to draw my characters, but my drawing skills are so bad in this, I get frustrated because I can’t draw people freehand. But I find it very helpful to draw settings (I’m better in this) and maps to get a visualization from your story. It often brings new ideas when you think of little details. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

