Hello everyone!

Today I’m going to talk about my stages of writing and more… So without further due let’s get started!

  1. Come up with an idea. – For me, this is the hardest stage out of all writing until the book is available to buy. I have such trouble coming up with idea’s… 😦
  2. (Outline). – I usually don’t outline, because I feel more free, but for Mystery Canyon, I did outline, because I didn’t want to get stuck in NaNoWriMo… When I outline, I always do a chapter outline, so I write down what happens in each chapter… And for new writers, I definitely recommend this!
  3. Write the first draft. – This is usually for the most people the hardest part. You often get stuck or don’t know what to write about. But if you get writers block, the worst thing you can do is give up. What I would do in that situation is a) switch to writing per hand. This helps a lot because it feels less official so you can brainstorm a little bit better and b) maybe leave the part out and skip to the next scene or part. And when you are done you can come back to it.
  4. Write the second draft. – This is a very painful part. You go through your own book for the first time and often you’ll see that you added unnecessary information, so you’ll have to delete that and maybe add some new stuff.
  5. Structure edits. – A professional reviews your manuscript. This is the most painful part because you’ll rip the story apart and write it again.
  6. Copy edits. – You give your manuscript to someone who’s very good with grammar.
  7. Publishing! – This is the most exciting part. You get to share your hard work with the world!

So that was it for the stages, but here are a few last notes:

  1. You should never give up. I don’t need to explain; just don’t give up.
  2. I don’t usually write many notes down. If it is a great idea, maybe I’ll write it down, but not usually…

That was it for today! Thanks for checking by,

Luc

 

2 thoughts on “My writing process

Leave a Reply

